Ratings and reviews for:

Things I Know to be True

By Andrew Bovell

Event Flyer

Directed by Carla Moore

One year in the life of an Australian family as they discover the sweet pain of finding out the truth about each other and themselves. Bob and Fran Price have been married for 30 years, brought up four children and kept their sense of humour. Their eldest is married with children of her own, the boys are successfully pursuing careers and their youngest has just left home to backpack around Europe for a year. It should be time to stop and smell Bob’s precious roses. But just when things should be slowing down, it becomes clear that a parent’s work is never really complete. Funny and poignant, Things I Know to be True is a beautifully crafted play from award winning Australian playwright Andrew Bovell.

Returns Policy:

All sales are final (No returns)


Exchange / Upgrade Policy:

Exchange / upgrade accepted within the same event and other recurrences of this event (no money back) Click here to go to the event recurrences

Exchange / upgrade accepted up to 2 hours before the event.

Things I Know to be True image

Reviews & ratings

Summary:



4.87 / 5.00 based on 142 reviews

How did you like the event?

How did you like the event?

   Really good.

May 23, 2022
by: Tracey Okeby Lucan

How did you like the event?

   

May 18, 2022
by: Bernadette Trompp

How did you like the event?

   

May 16, 2022
by: Elizabeth Tugwell

How did you like the event?

   

May 15, 2022
by: Helen Buick

How did you like the event?

   Best performance I e seen in a very long time. Brilliant!!!

May 15, 2022
by: Kimberley Henderson

How did you like the event?

   

May 15, 2022
by: Christine Cherry

How did you like the event?

   

May 15, 2022
by: Jollee Sacco

How did you like the event?

 Fantastic play, really enjoyed. Fabulous actors, excellent directing. Looking forward to Carla’s next production

May 15, 2022
by: David Andrews

How did you like the event?

   

May 15, 2022
by: Catherine Hayes

How did you like the event?

 The best play Theatre on Chester has ever done. Belvoir look out! Congratulations to Carla, the cast & the crew. You brought Andrew Bovell's fine script alive. The set and choreography were so creative, and the lighting & sound was nicely complementary. Freya's opening monologue was remarkable, setting a bar that every following act somehow managed to match. It was an exemplary performance. Well done and thank you!

May 15, 2022
by: Bronwyn Bockenstein

How did you like the event?

 Quite possibly the best performance we have seen and enjoyed in our dozen or so years as subscribers. The storyline was so true to life and emotional. The performance by all cast members was exemplary and we would still be applauding if you had hung around longer on stage.    

May 15, 2022
by: John Marr

How did you like the event?

   

May 15, 2022
by: Pauline Calder

How did you like the event?

   This was my first ever Chester St show after I was gifted a subscription for Christmas.

May 15, 2022
by: Trevor Ballantine

How did you like the event?

   The play, the acting, the set are all great! We had a wonderful night! Thank you. We were wondering if it would consider to post on your web site or email to subscribers the information about the actors. I love reading the information about the troup on the wall in the hall during an internal, but sometimes we get caught up chatting with friends and run out of time. If really love to learn more about the actors in your plays. This production was fantastic! Congratulations!

May 15, 2022
by: Anna Baoutina

How did you like the event?

   

May 15, 2022
by: Marilyn Biffin

How did you like the event?

   

May 15, 2022
by: Jean Burke

How did you like the event?

   

May 15, 2022
by: John Fenessy

How did you like the event?

   

May 14, 2022
by: Ruth Elmslie

How did you like the event?

   Brilliant

May 14, 2022
by: Eileen Clements

How did you like the event?

   

May 14, 2022
by: Robin King

How did you like the event?

   

May 14, 2022
by: Robyn Scarf

How did you like the event?

     Excellent

May 14, 2022
by: Bryan Cox

How did you like the event?

   

May 14, 2022
by: Ida Shi

How did you like the event?

   

May 14, 2022
by: Clive Hillier

How did you like the event?

   

May 14, 2022
by: Vesna Koncar

How did you like the event?

  Amazing performances by a talented cast, cannot wait to see what they do next. Well done.

May 13, 2022
by: Emmajane ODonoghue

How did you like the event?

 I first saw 'Things I Know to  be True', on 23rd April with another couple. It was amazing!! I had to see it again!! I wanted to take my 3 adult children. We were all able to go on Mother's Day. It was brilliant!! My 3 are still raving about it and have told everyone. They are still ringing me to say it was the best show and time together. The actors delivered there lines with such gusto! Amazing!! It was very emotional, funny and pulled

May 13, 2022
by: Anney Evans

How did you like the event?

   

May 13, 2022
by: Ann Sayers

How did you like the event?

  What a professional production! The actors were brilliant!

May 12, 2022
by: Verified consumer

How did you like the event?

   Great powerful play

May 12, 2022
by: Karen Wacando

How did you like the event?

   

May 12, 2022
by: Ian Speirs

How did you like the event?

   A great play done with great aplomb. I really enjoyed the experience. Ian Boland was a stand out in a group of strong, highly engaging actors

May 12, 2022
by: Verity Morris

How did you like the event?

   Excellent play with superb performances by all the actors. Congratulations 👏

May 12, 2022
by: Sapna Lazarus

How did you like the event?

   4 stars because online booking system didn’t work Not your fault! Such a professional production Congratulations to all the cast

May 12, 2022
by: Catherine Kennedy

How did you like the event?

   An excellent production and performance. One of the best we have seen from the theatre.

May 12, 2022
by: Graham Downes

How did you like the event?

   

May 12, 2022
by: Tibor Molnar

How did you like the event?

   Good story, great acting. Most enjoyable with plenty to think about.

May 12, 2022
by: Kay Mosssie

How did you like the event?

   

May 10, 2022
by: Erica Garvey

How did you like the event?

   

May 10, 2022
by: Ann Osborn

How did you like the event?

   

May 09, 2022
by: Joan Skillen

How did you like the event?

 Impressive performances, and an emotionally charged play. Well done Carla, cast and crew.

May 09, 2022
by: Susan Andrews

How did you like the event?

   This was the most amazing play and presented with such professionalism. It moved me to tears at the end of the first act and again at the end of the performance. Brilliant cast and brilliant production

May 09, 2022
by: Carole Elvin

How did you like the event?

   

May 08, 2022
by: Helen Cummins

How did you like the event?

   

May 08, 2022
by: Lyn Page

How did you like the event?

   Best show I have seen in a long time. Fantastic performances. Don’t miss this one.

May 08, 2022
by: Liz Coote

How did you like the event?

   

May 08, 2022
by: Monica Ducrou

How did you like the event?

   Fantastic show. Acting was very very good - such an emotional experience. Well done to everyone involved.

May 08, 2022
by: Evadne De Beer

How did you like the event?

   

May 08, 2022
by: Betty Alves

How did you like the event?

   

May 08, 2022
by: Allanah Jarman

How did you like the event?

   

May 08, 2022
by: Jillian Taylor

How did you like the event?

 A family friendly play about close relationships and conflicts within an ordinary Australian family. I like it because it is heart warming, honest, sympathetic and real-life, the opposite of 'avant garde', 'post modernist', pretentious sophistication. Good ensemble acting, with mum Fran (Julie Moore) a standout performance!

May 08, 2022
by: Catherine Chan

How did you like the event?

   

May 07, 2022
by: Verified consumer

How did you like the event?

   The play was outstanding. The direction and acting were all first class. We have recommended the play to others as a must see.

May 07, 2022
by: Jody Aiken

How did you like the event?

   

May 07, 2022
by: Colin Mennell

How did you like the event?

   

May 07, 2022
by: Greg Blackford

How did you like the event?

   

May 07, 2022
by: Bobby Babin

How did you like the event?

   Extremely thought provoking with excellent cast.

May 07, 2022
by: Lynette Egglestone

How did you like the event?

     a bit confronting, but we need it...actors all excellent

May 07, 2022
by: Verified consumer

How did you like the event?

   

May 07, 2022
by: Merryn Horrocks

How did you like the event?

     A powerful, professional and moving play. Acting was 1st class - superb. The set was very clever with the changing of rose bushes - simple but very effective. I loved interweaving of the beginning and the ending - clever.

May 07, 2022
by: Lynne Pursley

How did you like the event?

   

May 07, 2022
by: Yvonne Ashfield

How did you like the event?

   

May 07, 2022
by: Katherine Molnar

How did you like the event?

   

May 07, 2022
by: Annette Earnshaw

How did you like the event?

   Beautifully sad

May 05, 2022
by: Jamie Palangio

How did you like the event?

   

May 05, 2022
by: Wendy Mulder

How did you like the event?

   

May 05, 2022
by: Barbara Karet

How did you like the event?

   A thought-provoking play and well acted.

May 05, 2022
by: Carolyn Alfonzetti

How did you like the event?

   Such a moving and emotional production. The cast were so believable in their roles, so many social issues, so close to home.

May 05, 2022
by: Lynne Montague

How did you like the event?

  Loved the play and the actors were all amazing. It was intense and this morning I was still contemplating the complexity of family relationships in the play.

May 05, 2022
by: Noreen Cronin

How did you like the event?

 Amazing show!

May 05, 2022
by: Michael Andrews

How did you like the event?

   I bought the book and would love to see the film if Meryl Streep were to be in it.

May 04, 2022
by: Martin Bell

How did you like the event?

   

May 04, 2022
by: David Boland

How did you like the event?

  This play has proven to be thought provoking long after the play ended. Well cast and a great set. Excellent effort by Theatre on Chester. The near full house audience were most appreciative of the return to a live show.

May 04, 2022
by: Keith Leslie

How did you like the event?

 The actors were brilliant in their performance and delivery. The set was excellent - simple but very relevant to the story line. It was a good feature for the sponsorship of the Lismore group.

May 04, 2022
by: Tim Radford

How did you like the event?

   

May 03, 2022
by: Chris Lewis

How did you like the event?

   

May 03, 2022
by: Sue Broune

How did you like the event?

   A good show. Some dialogue lost to the back of the set.

May 02, 2022
by: Verified consumer

How did you like the event?

   

May 02, 2022
by: Felicity Macdonald

How did you like the event?

     One of your best shows overall. Cast did a terriffic job with such an emotionally charged dialogue.

May 02, 2022
by: Patricia & Jon Whealy

How did you like the event?

   

May 02, 2022
by: Kaye Carter

How did you like the event?

   Fantastic show, the play and the cast were awesome

May 02, 2022
by: Phoebe Faulkner

How did you like the event?

       This play was absolutely fantastic. The best I’ve ever seen. I was crying happy tears. The acting was so real. I have recommended to anyone I talk to that they should absolutely go and see this 😊😊😊😊

May 01, 2022
by: Annmaree Fowler

How did you like the event?

   

May 01, 2022
by: Bella Ford

How did you like the event?

   An interesting play and impressed with the acting and the scenery which is always very clever for such a small stage.

May 01, 2022
by: Patricia Smith

How did you like the event?

   Excellent play with excellent cast; staging brilliant; first class.

May 01, 2022
by: Laurie Byrne

How did you like the event?

   Really enjoyed the play. Great acting and excellent script. A great night out.

May 01, 2022
by: Marie Cloonan

How did you like the event?

   

May 01, 2022
by: Margaret Wick

How did you like the event?

    We both thought the play was brilliant . Superb acting and the set was very clever

May 01, 2022
by: Rosalie Rungie

How did you like the event?

   

May 01, 2022
by: Pooja Joseph

How did you like the event?

   Thought the acting was brilliant, and Rosie in the opening scene was great, as I have a granddaughter the same age, the feeling was she conveying resonated with me. Thought the last scene was rather raw compared to the rest of the play, have thought about how it could be done differently but find it difficult.

May 01, 2022
by: Margaret Fisher

How did you like the event?

   

May 01, 2022
by: Carol Hancock

How did you like the event?

   

May 01, 2022
by: Jillian Michie

How did you like the event?

   Thoroughly enjoyable evening with 6 excellent actors. I would be happy to all of the actors in any play I'm directing.

May 01, 2022
by: Glenn Levett

How did you like the event?

 Excellent script. Marvellous acting. The set, the lighting .. all good. We found the characters and situations very relatable. Our congratulations to cast, crew and director. Loved it!

May 01, 2022
by: Barry & Valerie Worswick

How did you like the event?

   

May 01, 2022
by: Jacquie Boult

How did you like the event?

     This play was a brilliant masterpiece of human observation. Carla Moore aced its interpretation and the production was top notch! The cast was incredibly skilled and the total effect was intense and spellbinding. One could feel the powerful connections between players and audience. The entire experience moved many in the audience to tears. We all saw something of ourselves this evening!

May 01, 2022
by: Wilma Dowell

How did you like the event?

   

May 01, 2022
by: Anne Roberts

How did you like the event?

   

May 01, 2022
by: Lynne Munich

How did you like the event?

   

May 01, 2022
by: Heather Blackadder

How did you like the event?

   

May 01, 2022
by: DAVID ABBOTTSMITH

How did you like the event?

   

May 01, 2022
by: Jane Wheeler

How did you like the event?

   

May 01, 2022
by: Mary Bentley

How did you like the event?

   

May 01, 2022
by: Heino Windhorst

How did you like the event?

     Great work!

Apr 29, 2022
by: ELVA HARRIS

How did you like the event?

   One of the best we have been to. Thought provoking. sensitively handled and excellent acting.

Apr 29, 2022
by: Gallagher Wal

How did you like the event?

   Thoroughly enjoyed this marvellous production. Play dept with family relationships in a believable funny and poignant way. I both laughed and shed tears ! Acting was faultless, production innovative so very well done Congratulations to all involved

Apr 29, 2022
by: Josephine Mutch

How did you like the event?

     All the actors were fabulous ! Really enjoyed the play. PS Just so you know and quite understand how this could happen but I think the biscuits at interval were 2020 issue 🙁

Apr 28, 2022
by: Verified consumer

How did you like the event?

   

Apr 28, 2022
by: Dianne Parker

How did you like the event?

   

Apr 28, 2022
by: Chris Turnbull

How did you like the event?

   

Apr 27, 2022
by: Valerie Flint

How did you like the event?

  Excellent show - congratulations to the performers. I thought the casting was superb.

Apr 27, 2022
by: Suzanne Hogg

How did you like the event?

   Excellent

Apr 27, 2022
by: Jill Steverson

How did you like the event?

     The script was great - full of "humanity" as the Director said. The presentation(staging/set/choreography was innovative, simple, and apt -great! The acting was very very good - very professional, nuanced. Thank you for a wonderful play.:)

Apr 25, 2022
by: Beverly White

How did you like the event?

   

Apr 25, 2022
by: Laura Gibson

How did you like the event?

   

Apr 25, 2022
by: Dyan Withnell

How did you like the event?

   Wonderful cast, great acting in a very good play.

Apr 24, 2022
by: Verified consumer

How did you like the event?

     Brilliant! Very well cast, superb acting, and great set. Rosemary Little and Steve Smith.

Apr 24, 2022
by: Stephen Smith

How did you like the event?

   

Apr 24, 2022
by: Susan Macgregor

How did you like the event?

   

Apr 24, 2022
by: Dawn Nettheim

How did you like the event?

 A stunning professional show, and very emotional experience.

Apr 24, 2022
by: Denise Kelly

How did you like the event?

   

Apr 24, 2022
by: Margot Nichols

How did you like the event?

   

Apr 24, 2022
by: Carolyn Watt

How did you like the event?

     Throughly enjoyed the story and the acting. The quality of the acting was excellent. The stage set up was simple but very effective.

Apr 24, 2022
by: Wayne Steele

How did you like the event?

   Thoroughly enjoyed everything about the play

Apr 24, 2022
by: Fran Cunneen

How did you like the event?

   

Apr 24, 2022
by: Carla Lingard

How did you like the event?

   

Apr 24, 2022
by: Rashmi Pahwa

How did you like the event?

   Highly recommended.

Apr 24, 2022
by: Linda Werbeloff

How did you like the event?

   Excellent, so powerful.

Apr 24, 2022
by: Carmel Reilly

How did you like the event?

   Loved it! The actors were superb and the storyline so thought provoking.I became teary as on Friday I attended the funeral of a very dear friend and I thought of her son's coping with losing their mother.Once again a first class play directed by a Carla..

Apr 24, 2022
by: Helen Zirn

How did you like the event?

   Brilliant casting and direction of a memorable Aussie play. Every family has its secrets, its successes and its failures, all wonderfully interwoven in this story of events in the lives of the Price family - a family with some remarkable resemblances to our own. A great night of theatre.

Apr 24, 2022
by: Philip And Diane Keeffe

How did you like the event?

   

Apr 24, 2022
by: Jillian Boyd

How did you like the event?

   Brilliant and wonderfully acted!!!

Apr 23, 2022
by: Janelle Fraser

How did you like the event?

     Outstanding and believable drama pertinent to real life today. All the cast were outstanding and believable in their role. Everyone stood up at the end and clapped. Would love to see it again. Have recommended to my family and friends. Certainly look fwd to the other plays....

Apr 23, 2022
by: Nancy Serg

How did you like the event?

   Such a funny, tragic and poignant play. I giggled and cried in equal measures.

Apr 23, 2022
by: Caroline Edwards

How did you like the event?

   Beautiful, relatable and professional production. Wonderful cast who engaged you in their performance. The content made me stop and think about my own family and life story. Congratulations to the director and technical crew! Only criticism is for the individual in the audience who did not turn their mobile phone off …

Apr 22, 2022
by: Karen Britt

How did you like the event?

   dealt with some interesting family issues. Monologs were excellent then the cast interaction iced the cake. Thanks

Apr 22, 2022
by: Ralsph Thorp

How did you like the event?

   

Apr 22, 2022
by: Alyson Elias

How did you like the event?

    'Things I Know to be True" was a truely memorable theatrical experience that was beautifully crafted in every way. I was struck by the evocative staging (OMG...that tree!), the sensitive direction and the commitment of the actors. What a wonderful choice of play, cast and crew. This is community theatre at its BEST. Congratulations to all at The Theatre on Chester.

Apr 22, 2022
by: Kaye Lopez

How did you like the event?

   Really excellent play

Apr 22, 2022
by: Tracey Okeby Lucan

How did you like the event?

   

Apr 22, 2022
by: Trix Harvey

How did you like the event?

   Great

Apr 22, 2022
by: Andrew Yalda

How did you like the event?

     Brilliant, moving, emotional, raw and real. Fabulous acting and portrayal of a family trying to come to terms with huge life issues. Well done!

Apr 22, 2022
by: Alison Kaylinger
Reviews source: Reviews for Things+I+Know+to+be+True



Some of the information shown above are collected from the web. TrustedViews cannot confirm the validity and accuracy of all the data.