Ratings and reviews for:

Steel Magnolias

Event Flyer

The action is set in Truvy’s beauty salon in Chinquapin, Louisiana, where all the ladies who are “anybody” come to have their hair done. Helped by her eager new assistant, Annelle (who is not sure whether or not she is still married), the outspoken, wise-cracking Truvy dispenses shampoos and free advice to the town’s rich curmudgeon, Ouiser, ("I’m not crazy, I’ve just been in a bad mood for forty years"); an eccentric millionaire, Miss Clairee, who has a raging sweet tooth; and the local social leader, M’Lynn, whose daughter, Shelby (the prettiest girl in town), is about to marry a “good ole boy.” Filled with hilarious repartee and not a few acerbic but humorously revealing verbal collisions, the play moves toward tragedy when, in the second act, the spunky Shelby (who is a diabetic) risks pregnancy and forfeits her life. The sudden realization of their mortality affects the others, but also draws on the underlying strength—and love—which give the play, and its characters, the special quality to make them truly touching, funny and marvelously amiable company in good times and bad.

 

Directed for LCCT by Greg Thompson

Returns Policy:

Returns accepted up to 24 hours before the event.

Service charges may apply for the return of tickets as follows:

  1. Return for store credit: 0.00% of the ticket price is deducted
  2. Refund to your credit card: 5.00% of the ticket price is deducted

Exchange / Upgrade Policy:

Exchange / upgrade accepted with any event (no refund) Click here to see the list of all events

Exchange / upgrade accepted up to 2 hours before the event.

Steel Magnolias image

Reviews & ratings

Summary:



4.72 / 5.00 based on 78 reviews

How did you like the event?

How did you like the event?

   Awesome job from this cast. A flawless performance!

Dec 04, 2022
by: Nicole Ehrgott

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 25, 2022
by: Janet Menter

How did you like the event?

   Excellent acting. Enjoyed the humor intermixed with serious topics. Refreshing to watch this type of play in 2022.

Oct 23, 2022
by: James Crosby

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 19, 2022
by: Lynn Deming

How did you like the event?

   I thought the performance was great

Oct 18, 2022
by: Girard Sanchez

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 18, 2022
by: Lori Yeager

How did you like the event?

   Laughed and cried. Great performances 👏

Oct 17, 2022
by: Dennis Morin

How did you like the event?

 What a lovely and powerful production! Each character came alive, thanks to the superb performances by each and every one of the actresses on stage. Thank you for making my matinee experience at LCCC yesterday thoroughly enjoyable. I definitely will be back in the future. ❤️

Oct 17, 2022
by: Patricia Brandow

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 17, 2022
by: Donna Goggin

How did you like the event?

   GREAT!

Oct 17, 2022
by: Sylvia Rodriguez

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 17, 2022
by: MARGARET DEVLIN

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 17, 2022
by: D’ILA Deerman

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 17, 2022
by: Elinor Chalekian

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 17, 2022
by: Julia Brogan

How did you like the event?

   Outstanding performances. I will not single out any one actor, however, the ensemble was excellent. The set was very like Truvy's salon, the mood...well, just everything about this performance was perfect.

Oct 17, 2022
by: Joyce Tyo

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 16, 2022
by: Bianca Castro

How did you like the event?

   Nora Brown's M'lynn was amazing. I have seen this play a few times over the years and have the movie as well -- loved it! Although I knew the ending, I still cried.

Oct 16, 2022
by: Maria Foster

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 16, 2022
by: Julia Schmitt

How did you like the event?

   All the actors did an amazing job! Best show I’ve seen so far.

Oct 16, 2022
by: Sherri Hursey

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 16, 2022
by: Megin Smelser

How did you like the event?

   Fantastic acting and humor!

Oct 16, 2022
by: Jeannine Alexander

How did you like the event?

   I'm not sure why Nora Brown isn't working out of LA and on the big screen....or NYC Broadway....but great rendition of Steel Magnolias.

Oct 16, 2022
by: Russell Bradburd

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 16, 2022
by: Rene Adams

How did you like the event?

   Wonderful cast. Well done.

Oct 15, 2022
by: Lillie Vega

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 15, 2022
by: RoseAnn Hernandez

How did you like the event?

   Brilliant, absolutely brilliant! Outstanding performances and wonderful set. Congratulations LCCT!

Oct 15, 2022
by: TONY OWENS

How did you like the event?

   ALL lines delivered flawlessly. Each character drew me into the room. Magnificent delivery from every cast member.

Oct 15, 2022
by: Bonnie Kent

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 15, 2022
by: Catherine Lemons

How did you like the event?

   the actresses were great, steel magnolias is a family classic we have seen the movie at least 30 times. They were witty, and the final scene was pure emotion. My ladies and their daughters loved it!!

Oct 15, 2022
by: Gloria Eichelberger

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 15, 2022
by: Andrea Saenz

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 15, 2022
by: Rick Feinberg

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 12, 2022
by: Genevieve Munoz

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 11, 2022
by: Margaret Widmerhall

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 10, 2022
by: FRAN GUNDERSON

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 10, 2022
by: Cheri Damschroder

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 10, 2022
by: Simone White

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 10, 2022
by: Verified consumer

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 10, 2022
by: Marjorie Hinton

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 10, 2022
by: George / Sandra Abernathy

How did you like the event?

 The performers (all female cast) were absolutely terrific but TBH the show was too long.

Oct 10, 2022
by: Maryanne Long

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 10, 2022
by: Michael Madanick

How did you like the event?

   What a FUN way to spend a Sunday afternoon. The actors were all amazing.....what talent was on that stage! I was so upset at the beginning as the 2 were on stage talking, but we couldn't hear what they were saying because the music was too loud. I'm the one who went & reported this, only to be told it would stop soon! Haha, & sure enough it did. We are fortunate to have such talent in Las Cruces.......thanks for comfortable seating too.

Oct 10, 2022
by: Janet Mechem

How did you like the event?

   This was an excellent play with all performances 100% on.

Oct 10, 2022
by: Dawn VanLeeuwen

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 10, 2022
by: Jim Comstock

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 10, 2022
by: Janet Culp

How did you like the event?

   Great play! We both came out with tears in our eyes!!! Highly recommend it!

Oct 10, 2022
by: Roger Dombrowski

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 10, 2022
by: Wendie Guaderrama

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 09, 2022
by: Bruce Frankel

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 09, 2022
by: Thomas Morehart

How did you like the event?

   Excellent performance. Very moving.

Oct 09, 2022
by: Margaret Loring

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 09, 2022
by: Daniel And Simy Allan

How did you like the event?

   The actors were awesome and perfect for their roles.

Oct 09, 2022
by: Deborah Brown

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 09, 2022
by: Kathy Howell

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 09, 2022
by: Kathy Basler

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 09, 2022
by: Blanche Marlow

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 09, 2022
by: Amie Casados

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 08, 2022
by: Sarah Collins

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 08, 2022
by: Barbara Loera

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 04, 2022
by: Janice Bridges

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 04, 2022
by: Juliet Medina

How did you like the event?

   The gals played their parts good, accent and all. They kept the stage covered and were terrific.

Oct 03, 2022
by: Sylvia Cousins

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 03, 2022
by: Sheila Unglaub

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 03, 2022
by: Diane Lilley

How did you like the event?

   Theater too cold for my liking. While I enjoyed the set design and actors wardrobe, their voice projection varied and often I couldn’t hear their dialogue. Support of LCCT matters to me, so perhaps if I change my seating choice I’ll better appreciate the shows ahead ( I sat in B4).

Oct 03, 2022
by: Marcia Oliver

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 03, 2022
by: David Johnson

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 03, 2022
by: DonnaMarie Spruce

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 03, 2022
by: Jon Hill

How did you like the event?

   What a funny and poignant play! I saw the movie years ago but had never seen this as a play. It was beautifully staged and performed — kudos to the whole cast and crew!

Oct 03, 2022
by: Michel Wing

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 03, 2022
by: Sara Greer

How did you like the event?

     Great cast and stage set up. INCREDIBLE!!

Oct 03, 2022
by: Barbara Jewett

How did you like the event?

   I loved it! I laughed and i cried. The story was so intense focusing on the intense relationship between these women. The acting was superb! The set was perfect!

Oct 03, 2022
by: Denise Welsh

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 03, 2022
by: Debbie Landt

How did you like the event?

   Can't say enough good things. Great performances by this ensemble cast. It was evident that the cast cared about each other. A wonderful story, professionally executed.

Oct 03, 2022
by: Judy Parker

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 02, 2022
by: Valerie Treon

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 02, 2022
by: Jessica Gonzales

How did you like the event?

 This play was so enjoyable! We laughed out loud countless times. I especially enjoyed the woman who played Clairee! I found the actress' portrayal of Ouiser so much more loveable than Shirley MacLaine's version. I was deeply moved by the actress who played M'Lynn when she spoke of losing her daughter, especially when I saw tears in her eyes! The actresses portraying Annelle and Shelby reminded me so much of the original characters I felt like I was watching the movie!!

Oct 02, 2022
by: Dianne Torres

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 02, 2022
by: Norma Antine

How did you like the event?

   It was a wonderful show! I laughed and I cried and now I’m inspired to finally watch the movie I’ve been curious about for years!!

Oct 01, 2022
by: Verified consumer
Reviews source: Reviews for Steel+Magnolias



Some of the information shown above are collected from the web. TrustedViews cannot confirm the validity and accuracy of all the data.