Ratings and reviews for:

Passing Strange

This spring Ujima Theatre Company will be inaugurating their new home with a floor-boards rattling raucous production of Passing Strange, the story of a young black man’s migration from
Los Angeles to Europe, and subsequent coming of age as an artist, that will stay in your bones long after you’ve left your seat.

 

Part rock, funk, and blues performance – part theatrical production – there’s very little on stage that can rival Passing Strange. In this soulful autobiography, our narrator Stew recounts his
youth growing up in middle class 1970s Los Angeles, and being rooted in the black church, before crossing the ocean to live in Berlin and Amsterdam where he discovers new perspectives on blackness, questions of responsibility, and figuring out how to become someone who was always just beyond his grasp. For Stew, and the audience, home must become a long distant memory before it can be unearthed and brought back into the light.

 

Permeating throughout is a love letter to the impact of black music that stretches from its gospel roots, to its forgotten history in punk and rock n’ roll, to the rhythms of our very beating hearts. Call it a concert, with its own story to tell.

 

Few are better suited to tell this story than Ujima Company. Lorna C. Hill, the founder and artistic director of Ujima, has made a name for herself by elevating the nuances and beauty of
black life, providing generations of Western New York audiences with stark and gripping portrayals of black humanity. Ms. Hill is joined by piano virtuoso Michelle Thomas as music
director and keyboardist, and Naila Ansari, who defines energy and edge, as choreographer. Together they lead a cast of Ujima veterans and newcomers – Brian Brown, Augustus Donaldson, Jacqueline Cherry, Preach Freedom, Zoë Scruggs, London Lee and Tianna Livingston – powerful black talent who generously leave their absolute everything on stage night after night. Their performances will provoke thunderous applause and sublimely quiet introspection when you least expect it.

 

Passing Strange made its Tony-nominated Broadway debut in 2008 and has spent the last decade weaving a tale of leaving your home, your country, the only life you’ve ever known in
order to find out who you really are. It’s a story of blackness that runs against the grain, as gut-wrenching as it is high energy. Buffalo has not seen anything like it. When Stew sings out, “Is it all right?” You’re going to find yourself leaping to your feet to call back in love and pain, “Yeah, it’s all right.” With Ujima at the helm, it’s all right and more.

 

The Grand Opening weekend of Ujima’s production of Passing Strange is May 3 - 5, which will also be the public opening of our new home, a freshly refurbished theater in the former School
77 at 429 Plymouth Street on Buffalo’s West Side. The theater is an integral part of PUSH Buffalo’s state-of-the-art renovation of the former school into its own offices as well as the Peace of the City after-school program and affordable senior housing. We invite you to join us as we celebrate our new home together.

Returns Policy:

All sales are final (No returns)


Exchange / Upgrade Policy:

No exchange



Reviews & ratings

Summary:



4.88 / 5.00 based on 74 reviews

How did you like the event?

How did you like the event?

   All around good production! I was not familiar with the work so I was beyond pleasantly surprised to learn of its content. Actors were excellent, music was on point, and the storyline of a different time in cultural evolution is as provocative today as it was during those times. Loved the combination of veteran and emerging and upcoming talents working together. I am happy and thrilled for Lorna and Ujima!

Oct 15, 2019
by: Celeste Lawson

How did you like the event?

   

Oct 07, 2019
by: Grace Andriette

How did you like the event?

   

Sep 13, 2019
by: Barbara Carr

How did you like the event?

 Great, as always.

Jun 22, 2019
by: Jessica Gilbert

How did you like the event?

 Exceptionall well performed.

Jun 17, 2019
by: Robert Schulman

How did you like the event?

 Hands down, one of the most enjoyable live theaterical experiences I've had in a while! Throughout this show, I experienced a full range of emotions, and I was abundantly proud to see characters onstage telling a story in which I could personally relate to many parts! Excellent storytelling and wonderful job by the entire cast!

Jun 14, 2019
by: Johnny Rowe

How did you like the event?

 Brilliant, moving work.

Jun 07, 2019
by: Kerrykate Abel

How did you like the event?

 a wonderful production--highly talented and artistic work.

Jun 06, 2019
by: Heather Gring

How did you like the event?

 The Performance was great and I love the new Theater space.

Jun 05, 2019
by: Catherine Horton

How did you like the event?

 Wonderful show. Felt so good to be there and see my friends again. Can't wait for the next one.

Jun 04, 2019
by: Theresa Yates

How did you like the event?

 Everything was so professional and all the staff were so lovely. The performance was out of this world and I’ll definitely be looking to see their next production! Passing Strange is one of my favorite musicals and I am so glad I got to see such an outstanding performance.

Jun 04, 2019
by: Randi Fay

How did you like the event?

 It was an awesome experience easy purchase of the tickets, I loved the seating and every actor/actress portrayed their character beautifully. I wish I could purchase a dvd of the performance after the show had run its' course. Again bravo to the Ujima Company!

Jun 04, 2019
by: Yvette Jackson

How did you like the event?

 The performance was outstanding from start to finish. What amazing talent.

Jun 03, 2019
by: Nancy Leon

How did you like the event?

 Great show.

Jun 03, 2019
by: Michele Ninacs

How did you like the event?

 I was blown away by this production. Top notch music, acting and singing. Thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of it.

Jun 03, 2019
by: Carrie Marcotte

How did you like the event?

 I loved it! The band was jamming, the actors were in character and their accents were on point, and the production was every bit as exciting as I knew it would be!

Jun 03, 2019
by: Sonya Rice

How did you like the event?

 One of the best productions that I've seen!! Really fine work by everyone involved in the production, on stage and off.

Jun 03, 2019
by: Kathleen Shoemaker

How did you like the event?

 I really enjoyed the show, i've missed attending plays at ujima. i was not so fond of the close seats

Jun 03, 2019
by: Barbara Lewis

How did you like the event?

 Excellent work!

Jun 03, 2019
by: Chris Handley

How did you like the event?

 An outstanding performance! A great show!

Jun 03, 2019
by: Jo Freudenheim

How did you like the event?

 It was wonderful. I travel from Rochester and have truly missed seeing Ujima performances. I brought a friend with me who is a director and actress (Broadway). She is quite the critic of theater, especially musicals, which is her specialty. She only had good things to say about the production and the new theater space. We will be back.

Jun 03, 2019
by: Terry Chaka

How did you like the event?

 Loved it! Hope you revisit this production next season. You unfortunately missed the Arties deadline where you would have aced them!

Jun 03, 2019
by: Jean RogersDownes

How did you like the event?

 The acting, the singing, the story, all amazing!

Jun 03, 2019
by: Verified consumer

How did you like the event?

 One of the best shows I've seen in Buffalo

Jun 03, 2019
by: Hilda Ramos

How did you like the event?

 Beautiful show!

Jun 03, 2019
by: Andrew Kottler

How did you like the event?

 Spectacular production--strong performances all round, great music, humor, pathos, song, and dance. Also, friendly and helpful staff and a beautiful and comfortable theater space. This was an ambitious play to produce for a small company and they really pulled it off. Ujima is a gem!

Jun 03, 2019
by: Stacy Hubbard

How did you like the event?

 All great.

Jun 03, 2019
by: Rebecca Fasanello

How did you like the event?

 very well done as usual - great crew, great cast, and a great production- it had something relatable for everyone.

Jun 03, 2019
by: Dennice Barr

How did you like the event?

 Excellent

Jun 03, 2019
by: Bruna Michaux

How did you like the event?

 It was great Such talent We were greeted warmly Love the new space

Jun 03, 2019
by: Mary Smith

How did you like the event?

 One of the best I’ve seen! There wasn’t a weak performance anywhere!

Jun 03, 2019
by: Diane Smith

How did you like the event?

 Ujima does an excellent job with musicals and this was no exception to that rule. The characters are interesting and believable and the dialogue is full of hidden gems. The early scenes at the church were hilarious, but you almost had to be brought up in a black church to get them. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Jun 02, 2019
by: Charles Franklin

How did you like the event?

 I loved the show. The band was fabulous and I enjoyed dancing in my seat during the play. It was a great story and I really enjoyed seeing the California characters the actors played in juxtaposition to the Amsterdam and Berlin counterpoints. My tears welled up in my eyes and I laughed at loud multple times during the performance. It was totally relatable. Thanks!

Jun 01, 2019
by: Nancy Hughes

How did you like the event?

 Fantastic!!!!!

Jun 01, 2019
by: Phoebe McKay

How did you like the event?

 Outstanding

May 31, 2019
by: John Rein

How did you like the event?

 "Passing Strange" was awesome, powerful and entertaining. I loved the production of the play with a singing narrator, the simple setting that took us to the other side of the world and back and especially the actors...Wow! Thank you for such an exciting and enjoyable evening. With Ujima I'm not surprised.

May 31, 2019
by: Priscilla Hill

How did you like the event?

 LOVED IT! I enjoyed the performance, as well as the new theater. Will definitely be back!

May 31, 2019
by: Sandra Rivera

How did you like the event?

 The music was great. The seats are comfortable

May 31, 2019
by: Janet Saltzman

How did you like the event?

 It was hard for me to follow and to grasp a storyline

May 31, 2019
by: Khalimah Halim

How did you like the event?

 Actors and musicians were wonderfully enthusiastic professional and talented!!! I wanted to go again but I ran out of time I would’ve been there again and again

May 30, 2019
by: Joanne Mediola

How did you like the event?

 Incredible job. Well cast, excellent music and musicians. Storytelling at it’s finest.

May 30, 2019
by: George Davis

How did you like the event?

 I reviewed Passing Strange for BuffaloVibe.com, so you can read my thoughts there.

May 30, 2019
by: Ann Marie Cusella

How did you like the event?

 This was one of the best shows

May 30, 2019
by: Joyelle Hackett

How did you like the event?

 Amazing gift of grace. Thanks to actors, musicians, back stage, Lorna, Maria, Bob, lighting, sound, Board and all those who helped bring this to Buffalo. I was breathless.

May 30, 2019
by: Lynda Schneekloth

How did you like the event?

 The entire event was exhilarating....such a powerful opening for your new space! Every aspect of the performance was outstanding: the brilliance of the musicians, the creative way the director guided the exuberance as well as vulnerability of the young actors, the captivating voice of Preach, and the effective lighting that added several layers of dimension to an intentionally minimal set. Even the reception afterwards seemed to sustain that high energy!

May 30, 2019
by: Margaret L Kaiser

How did you like the event?

 The event was professional and top level I cannot wait for the next one.

May 30, 2019
by: Cynthia White

How did you like the event?

Jun 07, 2019
by: Lisa Almeter

How did you like the event?

Jun 03, 2019
by: Loretta Nappo

How did you like the event?

Jun 03, 2019
by: C Diefendorf

How did you like the event?

Jun 03, 2019
by: Darren Portis

How did you like the event?

Jun 03, 2019
by: Penelope Howard

How did you like the event?

Jun 03, 2019
by: Celine LaDuca

How did you like the event?

Jun 03, 2019
by: Emily Yancey

How did you like the event?

Jun 03, 2019
by: Deborah Cohen

How did you like the event?

Jun 03, 2019
by: Myranne Feinstein

How did you like the event?

Jun 03, 2019
by: Denise ChapmanAcosta

How did you like the event?

Jun 03, 2019
by: Michael Murphy

How did you like the event?

Jun 03, 2019
by: Michael Sulzbach

How did you like the event?

Jun 02, 2019
by: LaQuida Shedrick

How did you like the event?

Jun 01, 2019
by: Pamela Callis

How did you like the event?

Jun 01, 2019
by: Annmarie Lally

How did you like the event?

Jun 01, 2019
by: Emma Jean Flood

How did you like the event?

Jun 01, 2019
by: David Lee

How did you like the event?

May 31, 2019
by: Rachel Struckmann

How did you like the event?

May 31, 2019
by: Carmen Swans

How did you like the event?

May 31, 2019
by: Alan Feller

How did you like the event?

May 31, 2019
by: Simmone Johnson

How did you like the event?

May 31, 2019
by: Raymond Thomas

How did you like the event?

May 30, 2019
by: Gerald Ramsey

How did you like the event?

May 30, 2019
by: Michelle Thomas

How did you like the event?

May 30, 2019
by: Barbara Carson

How did you like the event?

May 30, 2019
by: Ray Erway

How did you like the event?

May 27, 2019
by: Joan Hyman

How did you like the event?

May 09, 2019
by: Naila Ansari
Reviews source: Reviews for Passing+Strange



Some of the information shown above are collected from the web. TrustedViews cannot confirm the validity and accuracy of all the data.